A Rumble in the Jungle …

Hello, and happy new year everyone!

jj2015

My contribution for Jungle January is the Style Arc Kristin dress.  Actually, I’m not sure what this fabric is.  It was sold as Ponte, but it’s quite thick & springy, possibly Scuba?  It has a good widthways stretch, which is handy.  It was quite nice to sew, except where any pressing or manipulation was required, in which case it was the devil’s work.

When I first made it I really wasn’t taken with it, thinking animal print all over might be a tad too much.  I asked the husband; Is this dress too much?  No, he said.  It’s not enough.  It needs a tail on the back….

16278646472_bce9b33c55_k

Anyway, I made it in size 18, with no alterations and the fit is spot on.  For some reason the pattern asks you to insert a long zip in the centre back seam.  I figured it wasn’t needed, and indeed it isn’t.  It goes on over the head without any difficulty at all.  Yay for simplicity!

12 Comments on “A Rumble in the Jungle …”

  1. Béa says:

    I love it!!! I’m gutted that my stashbusting pledge means I can’t go out and buy a load of animal prints to join in Jungle January, but I’m happy to see you and all the other junglists flying the animal print flag!

    PS I like Mr Seams Straightforward’s sense of humour.

  2. helen says:

    That looks fab! I like the centre front, is it a separate panel or part of the fabric design?

    • Fiona M says:

      Thank you Helen 🙂
      The front is cut in a single piece, so it’s just the print you’ve noticed. The back is cut in a pair to allow a centre back seam for the zip, but I found it didn’t need a zip and I would cut the back in one piece on the fold next time.
      Without the zip, it’s a very simple pattern, a front, a back, two sleeves, two patch pockets and two bust darts.

  3. BeaJay says:

    Very nice dress. IMO you can never have enough animal.

  4. Yay for your dress! Looks good! (love your husband’s comment too!)

  5. prttynpnk says:

    Sadly, I could see my husband saying the same thing and thinking it was really a good idea! I’m feeling very covetous right now. Lock your closet!!!

  6. Carolyn says:

    Your dress looks fabulous on you! Rrrrrowww!


Leave a Reply

