I haz new Toyz!

Hello peeps!  I’ve been on the most awesome trip to Australia and New Zealand for the past 5 weeks.  I had the best time, simply the best.  I wish we could sell up and move to New Zealand, but unfortunately personal circumstances will not permit.

Still, it’s good to be home.  And, as promised, I have news about major improvements to my sewing room.

I have a new sewing machine, delivered today.  It’s the Janome MC8900QCP, which is currently on offer in the UK with £500 off the usual price and a free Mettler thread kit.  I had promised myself a new machine as a retirement present and was still deliberating which to buy from a shortlist of three, but this brilliant special offer sealed it.  I ordered yesterday and it was here this morning.  Take a bow Sewing Machines Direct, excellent service once again 🙂

14996304513_a68b66db07_z

I also have a new overlocker (serger), the Janome 744D, which is now exclusively available in the UK from Sewing Machines Direct.  She came with a gazillion special feet for gathering, binding, cording, beading etc.  It’ll take the rest of my life to learn how to use them.  The really big deal about this wonderful machine though,  is the ease of threading!  My previous overlocker was a brilliant little machine, but oh my word, she was so hard to thread.  This one though, is a breeze.  The lower looper conveniently pops out for threading and then clicks back into place.  Simples!

15430339568_20832b2983_z

Not only that, but I have a wonderful new height adjustable sewing and cutting table, from Horn.  It’s the Sewer’s Vision table and is new to their range.  It  takes up so little room and suits my purposes perfectly, (woohoo, no more backache!)  and was a birthday present from my lovely husband 🙂  The pillows under the table are where my cat likes to sleep when I am sewing!

14995700704_236d74a1da_z

And finally, I have lovely new stash storage courtesy of Ikea.  My room is all set up and ready to go.  I am a very happy bunny indeed!

15429813319_e9731d8e91_z

Now, what to sew??

11 Comments on “I haz new Toyz!”

  1. BeaJay says:

    Oooh aaahhh – new toyz you lucky thing. Enjoy.

    Didn’t know you were coming down here. Hope you had fine weather and a wonderful time.

    • Fiona M says:

      We did thanks, Beajay! We had 3 scorching days in Melbourne (including my birthday!) before moving on to NZ. I had to call in for a birthday cake down at St Kilda! (And I was down to my last bottle of ‘Martha’s Wool Mix, which is the only thing I will use on my delicates, and I can’t buy in the UK any more 😦 ).
      Back to earth with a bump now, very autumnal here in the Northern hemisphere!

  2. helen says:

    Wow wee! My word, that machine looks impressive! I’m very jealous of that room, I’ve just packed up my evenings sewing from the dining room table 😦 (but on a positive note have just run up a lady skater dress in no time now I’m back working the 4 thread!).
    You’ve got a good stash of fabric there so looking forward to seeing some new makes.

    • Fiona M says:

      Thanks Helen, I know I am really lucky to have all this lovely space and equipment. It does make sewing a real pleasure when I can escape to my favourite room in the house!

  3. and.sewon says:

    I am very envious of your new toys but looking forward to seeing what you create. Have fun!

  4. Chris Lucas says:

    Congratulations on your new toys 🙂 I have the exact same sewing machine and it’s definitely a dream to sew with. Looks like you’ve set up the perfect sewing room now especially with your new table and shelves too 🙂

    • Fiona M says:

      Hi Chris! The offer was one I couldn’t refuse, although I was initially leaning towards something else. Good to know I have chosen a good machine. The free Mettler thread kit is also very lovely – 96 spools of thread in a rigid carry case 🙂


Leave a Reply

