Reflections …

Recent musings and revelations.  No pics.

1 I don’t go to work any more.  I have retired.  Last week I took 3 sacks of no longer needed work clothes to the charity shop.  Included in these sacks were several ‘me made’ garments from the past year or two.  Not going to work means my clothing needs have significantly changed.  At home, I wear little else but jeans, T shirts, sweaters.  It means I’m going to have to reconsider the kind of sewing I do and, more and more, I think I will be sewing for others rather than myself.  I know I’ve said before that I don’t enjoy sewing for others, but I can only make so many T shirts!

2  I’ve realised I don’t really enjoy wearing woven fabrics.  I love sewing and wearing knits, and these are the things which survived last week’s wardrobe cull.  I also realised when my overlocker recently failed, that I missed it more than I would miss my sewing machine if the situation were reversed.  I do a lot of my sewing on the overlocker.  So much so, that when the overlocker was fixed, I promptly gave it to a friend and bought a slightly more sophisticated one with a free arm and a million complicated attachments.  (I have the rest of my life to learn how to use them!)

3  I recently purged my stash of wovens, donating them to friends who, in turn, donated cash to charity.  I kept a few pieces, suitable for sewing aprons and the like.  See point 4.

4  As mentioned in yesterday’s post, I lost a valued colleague to cancer 5 years ago, and a dear friend earlier this summer.  Another friend is currently fighting that same fearsome battle.  I feel a strong urge to support the local hospice, who have been wonderful in their support of my friends, which may mean sewing to raise funds.  I’m thinking aprons, cushions, scarves and so on – small gift  items, where sizing is not particularly an issue.  I’d like to have a stall at the hospice garden party or something.

5  This would also serve to keep me occupied, since ‘More Time For Sewing’ was a big part of my retirement plan.

Your thoughts would be welcomed.

My next post will bring news of major improvements to my sewing room – with pics!

10 Comments on “Reflections …”

  1. prttynpnk says:

    Our cancer centers volunteers make small wedge and contour pillows for the infusion rooms- those chairs just don’t stay comfortable for low sits and treatment.

  2. Suzanne Mills says:

    That sounds absolutely wonderful. I know my time will come, but oh how I want to retire and sew and read all day!

    • Fiona M says:

      Thanks Suzanne, I am getting used to it slowly. I’ve been talking to people for a living, 8 hours a day for 36 years, and finding myself home alone for hours on end is quite novel. I suspect I will be doing some voluntary work in the new year, to keep myself sane!

  3. Well keep us posted. I am heading there soon, sooner if I win a lottery! (Which I always say, but never happens). Sorry for the loss of your friend, and your colleague.

    • Fiona M says:

      Thanks Linda.
      I don’t want to give the impression I’m not enjoying it – I am making the most of this new found freedom, catching up with friends and family, and just generally loafing around. I can recommend it!

  4. Ellen says:

    Fiona, I am beginning my 5th year of retirement after having taught for 35 years. I was eligible for full retirement benefits and the time was right for me. Right now I’m working on a quilt and I enjoy machine embroidery & sewing for my daughter. There is a regular group of friends that I see for breakfast/lunch. Sadly, I lost my husband to cancer 6 years ago after 2 years of treatment. I think you’ll find a new rhythm in your life and your jeans will be just awesome!

    • Fiona M says:

      Thanks Ellen. I’m really sorry to hear you lost your Soul Mate, that must be so hard to come to terms with.
      I’ve been nursing for 36 years, the last 26 in mental health – you do a lot of talking (and listening) in that line of work, so I do miss that aspect of things. But I haz plans!
      Going to take a little holiday first, and then swing into action lol!

  5. Chris Lucas says:

    Congratulations on your retirement and I’m sure you’ll definitely be keeping yourself nice and busy with the ideas you have.

    Sorry to hear about your friends. So many wonderful people losing their battle with cancer which is so sad.

    • Fiona M says:

      Thanks Chris. I know I am lucky to be retiring, so many of my lovely colleagues have passed away before having that privilege.
      I intend to make the most of every day, because I do firmly believe life is for the living!


Leave a Reply

