More adventures in pattern drafting …

Behold, a self-drafted Maxi dress.

Image

The fabric is a John Kaldor viscose jersey knit, with a cream on brown ‘rattan’ pattern from the very depths of my stash – in fact, I ‘found it’ whilst desperately trying to stuff carefully place newly acquired fabrics into a drawer that is not nearly big enough.

I used the Butterick bodice pattern from another dress to get a rough shape for the top, the original pattern called for a self lined bodice, which was not what I was after, so I used the Tilton Ultimate T shirt method of binding on both neckline and sleeves.  The skirt is just two rectangles, gathered using the gathering foot on my overlocker (which really didn’t impress me much, perhaps I wasn’t using it right?) and attached to the bodice.  I also reinforced this seam with clear elastic tape.

Now, if we are being super fussy, the pattern matching on the bodice/skirt seam isn’t great.  In fact, it’s shocking.  But this is a long, loose, comfortable dress for wearing in hot weather, which is what we are currently blessed with here in Yorkshire

I will leave it to drop before hemming.

4 Comments on “More adventures in pattern drafting …”

  1. BeaJay says:

    Very nice summer dress. Congrats on the drafting.

    • Fiona M says:

      Thanks BeaJay, it was seat of the pants stuff, I wasn’t sure it would work, but I am pleased with how it turned out. We are having a warm spell here just now, so I may get to wear it soon too!

  2. helen says:

    Thank looks really comfortable.
    Didn’t notice the pattern matching on the bodice until you mentioned it!

    • Fiona M says:

      Thanks Helen, it’s going to be very comfy in this hot weather. I’m disappointed with the pattern match, but it won’t stop me wearing it.


Leave a Reply

