.. and it’s a hat trick!

Another day, another Style Arc top.  This time, it’s Creative Cate.  This is a very, very, quick make.  There are only 3 pattern pieces; back, front and neck binding, but I think none the less flattering for it’s simplicity, no?  I’ve made this pattern up before, in a drapey white knit with a pink, red and beige stylised flower print, I love it and I wear it a lot.  I love this one too, although this knit is a bit firmer, 95% cotton & 5% spandex,  so not quite as drapey around the neckline as my other one.  It might soften up in the wash after a while.  What do you think of the print?  A bit wild, eh?  I love these colours.  (The background is Teal, and the flowers are Lilac, Lime and Turquoise).  I was inspired by seeing a promotional video this morning of a Kaffe Fassett exhibition which is currently on at the American Museum in Britain.

14275542634_d4ed42960b

It doesn’t fit quite so snugly on me.  I must get round to sorting Brunnhilde out to more accurately reflect my new size.

It’s been a Bank Holiday here in the UK, so I had an extra day to play.  I’ve cheated a bit though, as I haven’t hemmed it or cover stitched the neck band and seams yet, but I wanted to blog it before it got too late.  I’m off to finish it now, and hope to wear it to work tomorrow with navy linen trousers.

6 Comments on “.. and it’s a hat trick!”

  1. helen says:

    You are on fire! The colours are very Kaffe Fassett. It will look lovely with navy.
    I’m too tired for any sewing this evening but may do a few rows of a sock that has been hanging around for a few weeks.

  2. Fiona M says:

    Haha! Yes, I was on fire, but now I have burned out! I have done the cover stitching, so will be able to wear it tomorrow – and you’re right, it looks fab with navy 🙂
    No more sewing until next weekend now.
    Thanks for the tip about the fabrics fading, I will launder with care.

  3. BeaJay says:

    Love it. Creative Cate is my all time favourite top pattern – not only easy but as you say flattering. I have just finished 2 more (can’t have enough Cates) on my weekend away – just waiting to be hemmed. I love your fabric. It is bright and happy.

    • Fiona M says:

      Thanks BeaJay, I love it too, and will definitely make more. I am going to try Cate’s Cousin, with the long sleeves, later in the year, when autumn approaches.

  4. Béa says:

    It’s so pretty! I love the colours, and if Brunnhilde is anything to go by, it looks flattering in its shaping.

    • Fiona M says:

      Thanks Béa, those colours really pop don’t they? I love the Cate pattern, and the first time I made it, I couldn’t believe how easy it was! It is a flattering shape, and I get a lot of compliments on it. I have an important meeting tomorrow, and I plan to wear it again 🙂


Leave a Reply

