Sloppy Joe …

Style Arc Sunny.

This is a soft, cosy, drop-shouldered jumper for layering over a t-shirt and leggings on those days when I can’t be bothered to get dressed I’m relaxing at home .  My Gran would have called it (and me) a ‘Sloppy Joe’, hence the title of the post 🙂

The fabric is supposedly French Terry, which I bought online from Girl Charlee in the USA.  It’s not as substantial as I hoped, but I loved the colours.  It’s a loose knit cotton, with subtle pastel variegation on a lemon yellow background.  It’s stretchy, but not very stretchy.  I was hoping for something a bit more ‘sweatshirt’ weight, but this is really quite light, and I can see no evidence of the promised ‘low terry pile’ Girl Charlee promised.

Never mind.  It went together incredibly quickly, there are only a few pattern pieces.  The shape is ‘cocoon’, which means it’s pegged slightly from the hips downwards.  I cover stitched the neckband, cuffs and hem.  The sleeves are a bit too close fitting from the elbows downwards, I’d alter these slightly next time, and also would put banded cuffs on instead of just turning up a hem.

Still, two garments made in two days.  I’m on a roll!

Image

2 Comments on “Sloppy Joe …”

  1. BeaJay says:

    Great sloppy joe. Glad to see you call them sloppy joes on the other side of the world too. Love the colours. It reminds me of a ball of knitting wool that was quite the rage when I was younger. I loved it and purchased many of those balls but never got around to knitting them up as I am not much of a knitter. You will have something nice and comfy for those cooler days.

  2. Fiona M says:

    Thanks BeaJay, I know exactly the yarn you mean, although I am not a knitter. I think my mother in law still has a cupboard full of the stuff!
    The Sloppy Joe has already been worn and was very pleasing in the comfort department 🙂


Leave a Reply

