More MMM and a Blog Anniversary Giveaway Announcement

Leopard print jersey Sewaholic Renfrew top

Image

And not so much a Me made as a Cheeky Re-fashion, I give you my Floribunda Denim Skirt.

Image

I’m ridiculously pleased with this, it started life as a pair of Lane Bryant jeans, purchased on holiday in California last year.  I was devastated to discover when I tried them on recently that they were now at least two sizes too big.  Plus, I answered the door to a charity collector chugger whilst wearing them last summer, and the woman said ‘Oooh!  I like your pyjamas …’

That kind of put me off them.

So, last weekend, I chopped off the legs at the knees, split the inseams up to just above the crotch curve, and used the chopped off leggies to make triangular godets for the resulting gaps back & front.  Hey presto, one fabulous floral denim skirt!  I know I will get a lot of wear from this.

Finally for today, I noticed that towards the end of the month (23rd May) it will be the first anniversary of my little Bloggy adventure.  It appears to be the tradition to give something away to celebrate, and to thank people for reading and commenting.

So, without further ado, I am pleased to announce my fab little birthday giveaway.  Please leave me a comment saying what you would do with 2 lovely metres of Liberty Tana Lawn if you were to win it, and also perhaps a clue about what colours you favour.  I’ll pick one at random and post the winner’s name on 23rd May, and I am happy to post anywhere, so don’t be shy.  And a Huge Thank You for reading, commenting, encouraging, and generally supporting.  (Applause).

22 Comments on “More MMM and a Blog Anniversary Giveaway Announcement”

  1. Suzanne says:

    I’d make a skirt, perhaps a Zinnia from Colette. Blues!

  2. helen says:

    Congrats on getting to a year! Well done! I’m not going to pass up on a chance to win two metres of tana lawn, count me in!

    • Fiona M says:

      Thanks Helen! But what would you make with it?

      • helen says:

        Doh! I don’t have a pattern in mind but I have an old short sleeve blouse which I’m planning to copy. It’s button front, slightly gathered into a front a back yoke with short sleeves with a slightly gathered sleeve head. I’ve been planning this in Tana Lawn since last summer. It makes up so nicely.

      • Fiona M says:

        Sounds perfect! 😀

  3. Chris Lucas says:

    Congratulations Fiona 🙂 I’ve never made anything with a Liberty Tana Lawn so not sure what I’d make with it. If it’s a light weight maybe a top? If I was to win maybe you could suggest something you think would be perfect for it? There’s an idea. I haven’t made myself anything for ages. But I have been busy sewing for my dolls so at least I’ve got my sewjo back LOL. Congrats again 🙂

    • Fiona M says:

      Thanks Chris, yes Tana lawn is lovely stuff, very lightweight with a beautiful smooth hand. It’s not sheer, but feels almost as though it should be. Unlike sheers, it is also a pleasure to sew because it behaves nicely. It’s perfect for a warm climate, a blouse, top or floaty skirt perhaps?

  4. Béa says:

    Congratulations on your up-coming blogiversary!

    I really love your floral jeans to skirt refashion. It’s inspired. I know I’m going to go to my wardrobe and see if there are any jeans hanging there that could find their way to being a skirt!

    The only time I’ve sewn with Liberty tana lawn was for my sister’s wedding, when we made 4 bridesmaids’ dresses plus a skirt for me as matron of honour, using one of their classic floral prints. Those dresses were beautiful (though I say so myself) and the lawn was wonderful to work with. I’d love to have another go with it and your giveaway is WAY generous!!! As for what I’d make with it? It would have to be a blouse. I’ve been wondering about Jennifer Lauren’s Afternoon blouse, or possibly Sewaholic’s new Belcarra blouse. I’ve also got a New Look 6636 pattern that I want to tackle.

    • Fiona M says:

      Thanks Béa! The floribunda skirt will be in regular rotation this summer, already worn twice! It was so easy to do too. Like you, I’m already looking at other jeans with a view to conversion. (For some reason, I have a strong fancy for a plain denim skirt with a frill round the bottom – a la the By Hand London Charlotte).
      Back to Tana lawn, I reckon the Sewaholic Belcarra would be perfect in Tana lawn, just bought that pattern myself yesterday, so we obviously think alike!

  5. T-K says:

    Hi!

    I like your blog. I’ve recently begun sewing for myself after a long hiatus, and I’m enjoying catching up with seamstresses around the world.

    I live in the US and have never had the pleasure of sewing with a Liberty fabric. If I won it I’d definitely make a lovely summer blouse to wear in the hot, humid summers we have here. I especially love wearing blue in the summer, it feels so cool. 🙂

    • Fiona M says:

      Hi T-K, thanks for dropping in and leaving a comment!
      Liberty Tana lawn is a treat both to sew and to wear, and perfect for your hot and humid summers. I agree with you about blue feeling cool – I was always told by my mother that it didn’t suit me, with having warm colouring, but recently I have found I can wear some shades of it quite successfully.

  6. […] More MMM and a Blog Anniversary Giveaway Announcement → […]

  7. Fiona M says:

    Thanks Cecillia, do you have a favourite colour?

  8. Me Pendleton says:

    Thanks Fiona & congrats on one year !!! I have been wanting to make the Sassy Librarian blouse & this sounds perfect !!

    • Fiona M says:

      Thank you for dropping in Mary Ellen! I think it would make a perfect Sassy Librarian blouse 😉
      I enrolled on that one too, but I haven’t made it yet. So many projects, so little time …

  9. […] leave a comment here saying what you would like to make with it, and what colours you like.  I’m happy to post […]

  10. Sox says:

    Congratulations on your anniversary!
    I think the Liberty blues are such lovely colours and would make a beautiful summer blouse -somthing my handmade wardrobe sadly lacks.
    Thank you for hosting such a generous giveaway.


Leave a Reply

