The Afternoon Blouse

Image

My MMM (day 6) post today is the Jennifer Lauren Vintage Afternoon Blouse, which I made yesterday afternoon – ha ha!  It’s a downloadable pdf, and there are just 4 pattern pieces, so it’s very quick to make, once you have stuck your pieces together and traced it off.

The fabric is a very pretty and drapey viscose woven, with a watercolour floral print.  I made size 20 (the largest size) and added 3 inches at the hip and an inch and a half at the tum.  I did this by slashing each bodice pattern piece at the lengthen line, and upwards from the centre bottom to this line, and spreading the pattern pieces.  This also added a little to the length, and I think the result is perfect.  (It would only work in a drapey fabric like this one though, in a stiffer fabric it would stick out like a 5 year old had drawn it!).

It needs a bigger button, the only blue one I had looks a bit lost here.

I’ll definitely be making more of these.  I’m wearing it to work today with navy linen trousers.

6 Comments on “The Afternoon Blouse”

  1. helen says:

    Looking good, I’ve seen a few of these recently posted around.
    I’m taking the photos for MMM and planning a weekly round up – not that it is any thing spectactular!

    • Fiona M says:

      A weekly post is probably the right way to go Helen, and I think I may do the same from here on – I just wanted to post this new make as I was so pleased with it!
      As well as looking nice and summery, it has been beautifully comfy to wear and gathered a lot of compliments today 🙂

  2. Ellen says:

    I love this fabric! The style is perfect! Enjoy!

    • Fiona M says:

      Thanks Ellen! The fabric is very pretty. It creases, but I hung it in the steam of the shower for a couple of minutes and it’s as good as new again 🙂

  3. BeaJay says:

    Love that top and the fabric is so pretty. I am sure it will become a go to piece in your wardrobe. Lovely


Leave a Reply

