Mayday, Mayday, Mayday …

‘I, Fiona M, sign up as a participant of Me-Made-May ’14. I endeavour to wear as many me made garments as possible during May 2014′

Somewhat late to the party, as usual.  I wasn’t sure whether to do this, I don’t have too many me made garments that are suitable for wearing in public, lots don’t fit any longer due to recent weight loss, others I’m just not happy with for one reason or another.  However, I think wearing my hand made items will help me identify gaps and decide how to fill them, ready for next year.

So, here goes.

Today, Vogue 1247 blouse.  Too big on top, baggy round the midriff, not big enough around the hips, and not long enough.  Liberty Tana lawn, pattern Ros.  Nice fabric, nice pattern, but not at all flattering on me.

Image

2 Comments on “Mayday, Mayday, Mayday …”

  1. Béa says:

    Yay! I’m glad you’re doing it!

    What are you thinking of doing about the blouse? Is it fixable? Can you cannibalise it for parts? Or is it a candidate for being flung into the far recesses of the Wardrobe of Doom, never to be seen again?

  2. Fiona M says:

    I don’t think it’s fixable, unfortunately. The pattern is complex and all French seamed. It’s a shame, because I worked hard on the construction, getting all the kite shaped pieces to fit together like a tangram puzzle, and the fabric is lovely. I should have made a smaller size with a FBA , some extra length & room in the hips, but I didn’t know how – this was one of the first things I made.
    (Not helped by losing a load of weight mostly off my bust recently., so now my pear shape is even more obvious.) So, sadly, I think she is bound for the charity shoppe.
    Hey ho, it’s all part of the learning experience!
    Now, what to wear today?


Leave a Reply

