Sew Dolly Clackett …

Yesterday I decided, pretty much on a whim, as you do, to sew a Dolly Clackett dress.  

Followers of Roisin Muldoon’s glorious frock blog will know that she is getting married soon (to a very handsome and smart young man) and to celebrate there’s this bloggy Clackettesque frockalong thing happening.

Obviously I won’t have it finished in time, the closing date is Wednesday, but I needed something to boot me out of the sewing Doldrums,   Also, I will have to modify the style somewhat – I’m a bit too old to rock a full on Dolly Clackett frock!

So I settled on this; Kwik Sew 4001, view B (the one with sleeves).

Image

Now, this is something of a departure from my usual style, but I have a celebration lunch function to attend in July.  Hopefully this will be the perfect dress for the occasion.  The fabric is cotton, with tiny strawberries amongst a navy blue check on white background.    I like to think Dolly might wear it to Wimbledon …

It’s quite narrow fabric, so I think it may be quite old stuff, I bought 4 metres of it from a remainders store last year.  The pattern has a lined bodice, which I’ve never done before, and a reasonably full skirt. 

This afternoon I pre-washed and ironed the fabric, and traced off the pattern.  Unfortunately It’s back to work tomorrow, so I won’t be able to do any more until Friday now.  Ho hum.  Hopefully it will be finished in time for the actual wedding, which I believe is to be in May.

Whatever, I would like to wish Roisin and Nic every happiness.  I do love a good wedding!

Check out the Flickr group of finished Dolly Clackett Frocks.

5 Comments on “Sew Dolly Clackett …”

  1. Chris Lucas says:

    Oooo Nice fabric choice… I’m sure Dolly would approve 🙂 Good to see you trying something you haven’t done before, linings always add such a nice touch especially for a more formal garment. Looking forward to seeing your finished dress.

  2. Fiona M says:

    Thanks Chris, wish I had thought of it before the bank holiday weekend, I could have had it finished in time.

  3. helen says:

    Love the fabric.
    Glad to see you are getting your mojo back.

    I’ve been away with work so I’ve not done any sewing for a few weeks. I have lots planned in my mind but it is the time….
    I’m just about to make 4 bridesmaid dresses for somebody which will take me 3-4 weeks of evening sewing so anything for myself is going to be on hold until way into next month.

    • Fiona M says:

      Oh, wow! Bridesmaids dresses! That’s quite an undertaking – I would be terrified – but your sewing is always of a lovely professional standard (which is why you’ve been asked).

      • helen says:

        I started in the dresses last night. I have decided to do one at a time. I had this plan of cutting all out and sewing like a production line but thought that with different sizes it could all go horribly wrong. So far so good.


Leave a Reply

