I’m in a New York state of mind …

I’m back.  And I haz fabricz!  Just looky where I’ve been …

Image

For 10 days I basked in 30 degrees of sunshine, gazing upon turquoise Caribbean seas, sipping Pina Colada and pondering on the meaning of life.  Then, on my way back home, I went to New York.  Minus 10 degrees (Celsius), and snowing.  What’s a girl to do?  Fortunately our hotel was conveniently situated, practically in the garment district, and only a step or two away from The World’s Largest Department Store.  Woohoo!

Now, I know I swore not to buy any RTW this year and, honestly, I wasn’t going to.  But when I entered TWLDS to buy an emergency sweater (because I was freeeeeezing) I found they also stock my favourite brand of jeans.  Not Your Daughter’s Jeans.  And they’re half the price they are in the UK.  And I’ve lost weight.  So I bought two pairs.  In a size smaller than the ones I was wearing.  Yeehaw!

Anyhow.  On my last day, practically on my way to the airport, I found time, in between stuffing as much Junior’s cheesecake into my piehole as humanly possible, to visit the Hallowed Hall that is Mood Designer Fabrics.  I made two fatal errors here.  The first was waiting until there was pressure of time.  The second, entering said Hallowed Hall without a plan.  Next time, I will not be so stupid.  And yes, there will be a next time.

Picture me, standing, agape, aghast, agog.  I was completely overwhelmed by the size of the place, and the myriad of choice.  I was a dribbling, trembling fool.  I bought only two pieces of fabric, both of which I am delighted with, but I could kick myself hard for not getting more.

Item One:  Pretty white eyelet cotton – in the UK we refer to this as Broderie Anglaise – it’s going to be a summer blouse, most probably using the pattern I kept from my pick of the Plus Size Pattern Pyramid.  I bought 3 yards.

Image

Item Two:  Navy & cream striped Ponte knit.  A really nice weight.  The wrong side has interesting stripes too, just visible in the bottom left hand corner of the photo.  I think this will become a tunic type top or short dress for wearing with leggings and boots.  possibly Colette Laurel.  Again, I bought 3 yards.

Image

So that’s what I’ve been up to.  I also have a couple of things to alter for my husband.  There are jeans to shorten for him, and the gorgeous batik shirt he loved in St Kitts was only available in XXL, and he’s a L.  Buy it, I said, I can make it smaller.  Me and my big mouth.

Sewing will resume next weekend. 

7 Comments on “I’m in a New York state of mind …”

  1. Béa says:

    Beautiful buys there! And the fact that you didn’t buy enough means you have an excellent reason to go back.

  2. BeaJay says:

    I have envy!!! Your fabric looks lovely. One day I will make the tragically long journey and go to Mood.

    • Fiona M says:

      Thanks BeaJay. Whilst it’s not exactly on my doorstep, I realise I am lucky to be able to go there occasionally. There’s a branch in LA too – we drove past it on last year’s holiday, but I didn’t have the heart to ask hubby to stop. I think that would be your nearest one too. I’ll keep my fingers crossed that your Lotto ticket comes up!

  3. helen says:

    I love the cream and navy stripe, how I would love some of that!
    I was searching on line for striped jersey knitted stripe and not printed (navy / white or red / white) and where it could be found it was sold out (or way too expensive).
    But as luck would have it I was in John Lewis at the weekend and picked up red and white stripe 100% cotton jersey in the sale at £7 so I bought two metres for some unidentified future project.

    I don’t have any plans to go to NYC or LA at the moment but hopefully one day!

    • Fiona M says:

      I know, nice quality knit fabric is so hard to find in the UK, but they have it in abundance at Mood. The trouble is, I was stunned into a stupor by the sheer volume of nice things, and knowing I hadn’t got much time to spare meant I couldn’t organize my thoughts quickly enough. I want to go back, right now ….


Leave a Reply

