Style Arc Linda: Flat Butt Adjustment – success!

Advisory note:  More close ups of my backside.  Those of a sensitive nature should go and read something else.

You’ll remember that I made these trousers a couple of weeks ago, and the fit was lousy.  So I looked online for the likely adjustment needed and discovered that my sagging seat is now so low slung, it’s gone all flat and droopy and needs a Flat Butt Adjustment.

So I altered my pattern piece (as posted previously) for the FBA.  I also lengthened the torso by a couple of inches, shaved some off the hip curve to take some excess fabric away from the seat, and used the optional 2″ elastic in the waistband this time.  I just had enough fabric left to make a pair of cropped ones.   Here are the results.

Before:

ImageImage

After:

Woohoo!  Result.

Sorry the lighting is not identical but I hope you can see it has made a huge difference to the fit.  I feel all smug.

8 Comments on “Style Arc Linda: Flat Butt Adjustment – success!”

  1. helen says:

    That has worked really well, the fit looks great. Are you going to make another full length pair?

    • Fiona M says:

      Thanks, I feel rather proud of the adjustment, although it would be nice not to need it, IYSWIM. I have some more bengaline in a lighter brown colour, which I will use to make another pair of full length ones, and also some white for another pair of holiday cropped ones.

  2. Chris Lucas says:

    WOOHOO! Congrats on the results you got and for achieving a better looking butt 🙂

  3. BeaJay says:

    Wow wow wow. What a great job you have done fitting those pants. Shave kilos off you. Very well done.

    • Fiona M says:

      Thanks BeaJay, I’m really pleased with them. Adding the length to the torso and the elastic in the waistband made a big difference too. I will definitely make more of them now I’ve got the fit right.

  4. Ellen says:

    Linked to you from the wardrobe architect, and so glad I did. If I walked into a room full of strangers I would sit next to you, and we would have a grand time. Or at least I would.


Leave a Reply

