Wardrobe Architecture – Phase 1: The Sorting Out

Ok, so last week I sorted through the 3 chests of drawers, and got rid of The Heap.  Today I started looking through the long and short wardrobes.  So far: 2 bags to charity, one to the tip, 24 spare hangers.  Still a way to go. Sorting out is a long, hard slog.

There is also a ‘problem’ with my weight.  I’m trying to lose some, for health reasons, and since new year I’ve dropped 3 Kgs.  There’s a long way to go, (another 20kgs), but I have some really lovely size 14 clothes which I fitted (only briefly) a couple of years ago, and couldn’t bear to part with.  Now there’s a possibility I might be able to get in them again, I’m even less inclined to get rid of them.

I invested the princely sum of £2.49 in a wardrobe management app for iphone/ipad called Stylebook .  The idea being to photograph all my ‘me mades’, catalogue and construct outfits from them.  There’s a calendar, so you can collect stats on what’s been worn most often etc.  You can have it on your phone, so no excuses!  Any impulse fabric purchases can be checked against ‘would it go with anything else I’ve made?’  I’m hoping this will be useful and not a waste of money, but for £2.49 I’m willing to risk it.

(Unfortunately I wasted half the afternoon photographing and uploading to a free app which did not work, so I’ll have to summon up the will to do it all again next weekend).

Sadly, it did seem glaringly and immediately obvious that nothing I’ve made actually ‘goes with’ anything else I’ve made.  Too many busy busy patterns, too many random and just plain wrong colours, too many tops and not enough bottoms.  It was a useful exercise,  even to establish that much 😦

Yesterday I traced the Style Arc Linda Pants pattern, which I planned to sew today – then I realised I have not pre washed the fabric.  So now, it’s back to the wardrobe sort out.

4 Comments on “Wardrobe Architecture – Phase 1: The Sorting Out”

  1. Béa says:

    Don’t feel like you have to get rid of things that you don’t want to get rid of. If you’ve got nice clothes waiting for size 14 to come back, that’s an incentive, right? Your wardrobe, your rules. And good luck with your weight-loss programme.

    I like the idea of putting a wardrobe management programme in place. That sounds very organised and effective. I’ll be very interested to hear how it works in practice.

    It sounds like I’ve got the opposite issue from yours- I’ve got plenty of bottoms, not enough tops! It’s a good job I’ve got a few lined up in my totally unrealistic 2014 plans.

  2. Fiona M says:

    I know, I was just thinking of creating some space so that I can see the things I could wear. Unfortunately, there’s nowhere else to store the ‘things that don’t fit yet, but may do soon’. I’ll let you know how I get on with the app – I suspect it’s aimed at those who shop for clothes, really. However, I think it could work for my own purpose too 😉

  3. helen says:

    It sounds like you have made a good start.
    The app sounds interesting, hope it works for you.


Leave a Reply

