Yet more inspiration …

Following on from my recent reflections on the need for a plan, this inspiring post from Sarai of Colette Patterns seems so very relevant to the way I am feeling about my wardrobe at the moment.

I can identify with all of those issues, nothing goes with anything else, I feel guilt and regret about waste, and I have lost my sense of style identity.

So, I’ve joined the Wardrobe Architect project in the hope of getting myself really organised in thoughts and sewing this year.  I’m really looking forward to this!

Meanwhile, I’ve ordered my Sailor Sue and Island Ali patterns from Style Arc, and some fabric from Germany – I’m finding it really hard to source good quality fabric in the right colours in the UK.

8 Comments on “Yet more inspiration …”

  1. helen says:

    I’ve now signed up to the Coletterie blog. I’m looking forward to reading the ‘style architect’ posts, I need a bit of guidance too. I took a few things to the charity shop today, things that I wear because they are there but don’t actually do that much for me. So I’ve got rid. I’ve just started my first 2014 garment, a brushed cotton shirt, which, fingers crossed will be versatile piece.
    What German site did you use? Was it ‘my fabrics’?

    • Fiona M says:

      Well done on the charity shop donation. I need to do the same, but with more than just ‘a few things’. I can’t see the wood for the trees here!
      Yes it was ‘my fabrics’, and also some from ‘fabric dreams’. It’s so hard to find what I’m looking for.

      • helen says:

        I’ve never looked at Fabric dreams before. I ordered from ‘my fabrics’ a few weeks back. Happy with what I ordered and free postage.

  2. Béa says:

    I think the universe is trying to tell me my wardrobe needs a kick up the backside, because I’ve seen *so* many blog posts on organising and sewing one’s wardrobe. It may be time for me to take the hint, and join you in the wardrobe architect project.

    • Fiona M says:

      I think it’s a new year thing Béa, ‘out with the old’, and all that.
      My wardrobe needs a serious cull, which I am mustering strength for. I thought I would leave it until late summer but it really needs doing now. Today. This minute!

  3. […] today I read Fiona’s post on Seams Straightforward about how that Coletterie post had inspired her, and I knew that the Universe wasn’t letting me get away with it. It was time to accept the […]

  4. Laurie says:

    A plan is good… As I was trying to sleep last night I thought I should make a nice list. Lists are good right? Then I guess the key is to follow the list! With my sewing ADD I don’t know if it is possible but I am going to give it a whirl. 🙂 I think I have a rough draft in mind though and am looking forward to being a part of the “wardrobe architect” project.

    • Fiona M says:

      I’m sure lists are good Laurie, and the encouragement of others is also very helpful. I’m really looking forward to being a Wardrobe Architect!
      Thanks for posting 🙂


Leave a Reply

