Calling International Rescue …

Well Ladies, you done me proud!  This was so close to being a wadder.

Thanks to Chris Lucas and BeaJay, I purchased and then actually watched the Craftsy Ultimate T Shirt course, with Marcy & Katharine Tilton.  I cut a much longer and wider neckband than this wretched pattern gave me, and I managed to pull it back from the brink.

Image

With the skirt attached, it was starting to look vaguely like the picture on the packet, and something I’d actually like to wear.

Image

Do please ignore that pile of old pillows.  I keep them for the wadding.  I usually move them out of the way for photos, but look closely and you’ll see that all the wailing and gnashing of teeth was just too much for my assistant.  The Lightweight took himself off to bed!

Image

I also need to thank Steph C for introducing me to Steam A Seam Lite.  It’s just brilliant for hemming knits.

But Hell, I was on a roll by this time.  I only fired up the CoverPro!

And so here is the Finished Object

Image

Complete with slightly wonky cover stitched neckline, hems and cuffs in Kingfisher thread that matches the teal in the fabric perfectly!

Thanks also due to Debbie Cook for what I refer to as The Cover Stitch Files.  I don’t use my CoverPro nearly enough, and Debbie’s webpages are invaluable when I do.

I’m wearing this to work tomorrow, with purple leggings!

8 Comments on “Calling International Rescue …”

  1. BeaJay says:

    Very nice indeed. Glad you were able to save it. I spent yesterday watching some of the craftsy courses and they are so helpful.

  2. Chris Lucas says:

    YEAH so glad to know you were able to save it and that the class helped 🙂 Just love how easy they make applying neck bands. And now you’ll also get another pattern to add to your collection.

  3. Gjeometry says:

    Oooh fabulous! Glad you were able to get some great advice and fix the dress.

  4. Fiona M says:

    Thanks both of you. I have bought loads of Craftsy classes in the past, but I never watch them! I buy them with good intentions of course. Then there was the one where the pattern didn’t turn up and I had to wrestle with them for months to get it – must admit, that put me right off them. So this T Shirt class is the first I’ve bought in a good long while, and I’m dead impressed that I watched and learned!

  5. helen says:

    The finished article looks great, hope you enjoyed wearing it today!

  6. Fiona M says:

    Thankyou! I have enjoyed wearing it, the shape is very flattering If I make it again I would size down as it is too big on the neck & shoulders really, also the sleeves are a couple of inches too long, but that is easily rectified. A nice substantial weight jersey would be nice for this style, but very hard to find.

  7. Béa says:

    I’m glad you were able to rescue this one from the Bottom Of The Wardrobe Of Doom. This is a very useful post as I’ve kept that very pattern from the Pyramid and I will be referring back to this post and your previous one, before I actually tackle it. I’l be able to tread in your footsteps.

    • Fiona M says:

      Thanks! It’s a lovely style and very flattering. I think Burda are drafted generously. I cut according to measurements and the lower half fits great, but I could easily have gone a size down. The neckband instructions were bafflingly vague,enough to be useless, but the use of a longer piece, applied as recommended on the Craftsy course worked a treat. Apart from that, it went together quickly.
      I hope to get some better quality fabric and have another go.
      Good luck with yours, I look forward to seeing it! This was one of the patterns I liked so much, I inadvertently bought it twice 😀


Leave a Reply

