It’s beginning to look a lot like …

Christmas won’t happen, unless I get my finger out!

The Eagle-eyed amongst you will have noticed there hasn’t been much sewing going on around here.  I’ve lost my mojo, don’t know where it went, but it needs to come back soon.  In a rash moment I promised my mum I’d make her some clothes.  She’s got it into her head that I meant she would have them for Christmas, although I don’t remember saying that, exactly.

I have three lengths of jersey in mum approriate colours, and she requested a skirt like the one I made last year, but shorter.  And two tops, with long sleeves.  No trouble at all, I assured her.  And promptly put it to the back of my mind.

So, much as I would love to be joining in the jolly japes over at Cake with the Red Velvet Sewalong, instead today I traced off Burda 8998.  It’s for Momma.  For Christmas.

Image

The fabric doesn’t photograph too well in artificial light, but it’s black with a pretty ditsy floral print.  Cream leaves, teal roses and some teensy purple flowers, I bought it from Croft Mill.  I’ll be making a long sleeved version, just need to check with Her Ladyship whether she would prefer a round neck or a vee.  Then tomorrow I will have to get on with it, mojo or no.

3 Comments on “It’s beginning to look a lot like …”

  1. helen says:

    Christmas comes along way too fast!. I’ve had to revise what I wanted to get done before the end of the year. I think it will be a skirt for daughter and pair of trousers for son. The dress I had planned for myself will have to be a January project.

    As for your mojo, maybe make some thing for yourself that you know will fit well and look good, maybe a tried and tested pattern. But obviously once you have sorted your mum’s items!

  2. Fiona M says:

    I really hadn’t realised how close Christmas is. We’re away for a week in mid December too, which doesn’t help. Mum seems to be expecting these 3 garments in her Christmas pile, so I am going to be hard pressed to get those done in time, never mind anything else. having had another look, I think this Burda might be too long for her too, I’ll have to borrow one of her favourite tops to measure it against and see what I think.
    I made her a Sewaholic Renfrew last year, which she declared to be ‘perfect’, but having said that, I’ve never seen her wear it!
    I believe I may also have committed to a fleece dressing gown for my God daughter’s Christmas present. Eeep!
    I think next year I am going to have to organise myself to Sew With A Plan.

  3. Chris Lucas says:

    You might find that once you get started sewing this project your sewing mojo might return. I go through stages like that as well and happy to report your mojo will come back 🙂 It sure is getting close to xmas now… geez this year seems to have flown by that’s for sure! I’ve often thought about sewing with a plan… but then realise I’d have to plan it first and then have to stick to it… yeah like that’s going to happen when there’s always new patterns and new fabric coming out LOL. Anyways I hope your mojo comes back soon and you enjoy sewing the outfits you have planned for you mum 🙂


Leave a Reply

