Tartan Terror!

Apologies for the radio silence.  The Tartan skirt is finally finished.  It was supposed to be a simple project, a lined A line skirt with invisible zip.  The kind of thing most of you would run up in an afternoon, without really having to give it much thought.

Image

Well, here she is. 

Let me tell you, this stuff was pure evil to sew.  It frayed like there was no tomorrow.

I got a bit confused somewhere along the line, and put the lining in ‘inside out’, so the seams are exposed on the inside, but I suppose that’s between you, me and the gatepost eh? 😉

Anyway, she comes to just on the knee, which is an exciting departure from the norm for me.  I’ll be wearing her to work tomorrow, with this very T shirt,  black leggings and boots.  Winter is indeed upon us.

Which brings me to my sewing plans for the next few weeks.  I have a skirt and two tops to sew for my mum for Christmas, plus a fleecey Mickey Mouse dressing gown for Santa to deliver to my God daughter, and ditto a fancy apron for a friend.  And of course, there’s the Red Velvet Sewalong beginning soon.  I’m going to be busy, so the Tweed will have to wait a bit.

6 Comments on “Tartan Terror!”

  1. Well, terror or not, it looks very nice, perfect for this time of the year. Is it wool? It is a very nice tartan. My favorite tartan is the blackwatch plaid because it works so well with my wardrobe.

  2. Fiona M says:

    Aw thank you! It’s poly viscose suiting from ebay (seller’s name ‘fab fabrics by maggie’, and she has Black Watch too ;)) Nice and cheap, but as I say, it does fray terribly.
    http://stores.ebay.co.uk/MAGGIES-FAB-FABRICS?_rdc=1
    I also love the colours of Black Watch, but as I am descended from Stewarts I thought I should be loyal!

  3. helen says:

    Looks great, no one needs to know about the lining…..
    Hope you get some good comments at work today. I’m a bit shy at saying “thanks, I made it” but I’m getting better.

  4. Chris Lucas says:

    Looks great Fiona… shame it was a terror to sew but it looks like it was all worth it in the end. You’ve definitely got quite a bit of sewing ahead of you before xmas… have fun 🙂

    • Fiona M says:

      Thanks! It’s really nice material apart from the fray factor. It goes with loads of other things too, so a useful work appropriate wardrobe addition.


Leave a Reply

