Simplicity 2181 – Finished!

At last, I hear you shout!

Well, sorry, but it was not without incident.

Image

I wasn’t paying attention when I cut it out, and got the twist sections the wrong way round – pattern pieces upside down, so the view is a mirror image of the pattern.

Then, I almost ruined it at the finishing post, by trapping the sleeve in the shoulder seam when inserting the second sleeve.  I spent this afternoon unpicking overlocking and lightning bolt stitching, and re- sewing.  I made a small hole in the top of the sleeve, but it’s noticeable only to me.

I wish I had lengthened it by a few inches, it feels a bit short.  And I had to make do with a very narrow twin needled hem, rather than the nice inch deep cover stitched one I wanted.

I also wish I’d used a plain jersey rather than this busy print.  Although gorgeous, I think it detracts from the twist detail.  Fortunately, I bought another piece, as I liked it so much.  I think it’s destined to become another Renfrew 😉

4 Comments on “Simplicity 2181 – Finished!”

  1. Vix says:

    You really shouldn’t be so hard on yourself, it’s gorgeous. I love the fabric you chose, the print is so wonderful it’s impossible to notice the flaws you mentioned. x

  2. helen says:

    It looks absolutely lovely. I’ve never done a ‘twist’ before, I’m quite interested in how the pattern pieces actually look! Of course you know the faults and you imagine that everyone else can see them but it’s not the case.

  3. Fiona M says:

    Thanks Helen. I wore it to work and got lots of compliments!


Leave a Reply

