Sweet Pea Tote – Finished

Well it has been a miserable wet day here in West Yorkshire, but I have been hard at it in the sewing room and my first ever bag is finished.
I’m really rather pleased with it.

Finished bag - a slightly better photo

The exterior fabric is purple Corduroy. The interior is a divine Kaffe Fassett print called Jupiter, in shades of pinks, lilacs, mauves, orange etc. It really is lovely and co-ordinates perfectly with the purple.

Kaffe Fassett Jupiter

Kaffe Fassett Jupiter

For the interior pockets I used some scraps of pink cotton sateen. I also added a key leash with a dog clip, because I find those so useful.

Inside The Finished Bag
The bag is a gift for a friend, and although she knows I’m making her a bag, she thinks it’s a little poochie bag like the one in the post before last, so she will be surprised when I give it to her.

Finished Bag - Back

Things I learned.

My sewing machine doesn’t like fusible fleece.
Or large amounts of interfacing.
Or sewing through more than a couple of layers.
The pattern is intended for quilting cottons and not for heavier fabrics.
But I like it and will sew it again.

Apologies for the poor photo quality, they were taken with artificial light as it’s such a gloomy day.  I might re-take them tomorrow.

One Comment on “Sweet Pea Tote – Finished”

  1. Chris Lucas says:

    Your bag has turned out great!!! You’ll have to let us know what your friend thinks of it when she receives it… I’m sure she’s going to love it. It’s amazing the things we learn from each thing we make. And don’t worry about the quality of the pics… geez some of mine are pretty bad but we all still get the idea and lets face it who has time to get the fancy camera out and edit pics? I know I’d rather spend my time working on fun sewing projects. I think one of the time consuming parts about blogging is taking, editing and uploading pics lol


Leave a Reply

