A little diversion

Summer suddenly arrived, with scorching temperatures and no breeeze.  Far too warm to be indoors, so I have not sewn much for a couple of weeks.  Today it’s cooler.   I ventured into the sewing room and did a couple of small jobs I’ve been saving.

First, I overlocked the edges of a remnant of silk organza, bagged on ebay for peanuts, and attached a loop of hanging ribbon, Voila! A perfect new pressing cloth.
Then I sewed a small drawstring bag for my little God daughter to put her PE kit in. She goes up to ‘Big’ school in September, and ‘a named drawstring bag for PE kit’ was on the list of uniform requirements.  Happily, it didn’t have to be in boring school colours – the headmistress apparently likes the little ones to be able to express themselves, so this little bag is in one of her favourite colours. I’ll applique her name onto it shortly – yes, I know I should have done that before I sewed it up, but I am waiting for suitable fabric to arrive in the post.

A bag for PE kit

If the cooler temperature prevails tomorrow, I’ll get on with your dress Kath, I promise.

 

Edit to add a photo of the finished project:

finished PE kit bag

Hope she likes it!

Leave a Reply

