Adventures in pattern drafting

OK, I’m on with it.  Kath, your dress is under way!

I’m using Sew Serendipity ‘Veronica’, from the Fashion Formula Dresses booklet.  It’s a sundress with a V neck at the front, and ‘pillowcase dress’ style at the back, slightly Empire line, with long ties at the back neckline and a long, long skirt (for my tall, tall friend!)  It’s the style on the top left and bottom right of this first picture, and the second picture is of the back view.

Sew Serendipity Fashion Formula DressesVeronica - back view

I’ve wanted to make one of Kay Whitt’s designs for ages, I love that she makes all her dresses in quilting cottons with the most beautiful array of prints.

The booklet contains instructions for drafting your own pattern, based on a series of calculations involving actual body measurements.  I’ve not done anything like this before, and as it’s not for me, you can bet I’ll be making a muslin!  I have an old duvet cover on standby.

For the main fabric, I have a gorgeous black cotton with big pink splashy roses.  The lining will be a gloriously smooth pink cotton lawn, and I have some black cotton with pink polka dots for the contrasting pieces – probably the ties and waist casing, and possibly a ruffle depending on how much fabric I have to play with.  The lawn & polka dots are in the pre wash as I type.

Main fabric

Leave a Reply

