A bit behind!

The story of my life!

I don’t get to sew on Mondays, Tuesday or Wednesdays, so today I was hard at it, playing catch up.

Today is Day 5 of the sew along, or Sew Days Later in my case.  I cut out my Hummingbird top this morning, and it was immediately obvious to me that the teensy little peplum was going to cut right across my widest part at the hip.  Fortunately I had loads of this Violet fabric, which I’d originally earmarked for another Tiramisu dress, so I cut another one 2″ longer all round.

Cutting out!

Cutting out!

Extended peplum

The top went together at the speed of light, it’s a really easy pattern.  Thanks to my own stupidity, I misinterpreted the directions for joing the peplum to the bodice.  I had to cut it off and re-attach, so the finished effect is not quite as Steph intended in the pattern, but it looks good enough to me.

Finished top

Finished top

I did a narrow rolled hem on the sewing machine, mainly because I didn’t have any purple overlocker thread – otherwise I might have done a lettuce edge.

sewing machine narrow rolled hem

sewing machine narrow rolled hem

Since finishing and photographing it, I decided to shorten the sleeves to elbow length, which I prefer.  I dispensed with the sleeve bindings for this and just turned up a half inch plain hem.

Tomorrow, I’ll start on the skirt.

My denim is quite unusual, black & cream, which looks pale grey on the ‘right’ side, and dark charcoal on the wrong side.  I’m not sure which to use.  If I go with the paler side I can guarantee I’ll spill beetroot juice (or similarly indelible substance) on it within minutes of wearing it.  I like the darker side, and it has a nice nubbly texture.  It’s been suggested I could incorporate both sides in the skirt to make a contrasting panel.  What do you think?

Denim for skirt

Denim for skirt

Leave a Reply

